Relay Records Bookend SMU Men’s Team Victory at SMU Invitational

Relay Records Bookend SMU Men’s Team Victory at SMU Invitational

The Southern Methodist University men’s swim team finished the weekend with relay pool records by winning the 2022 SMU Invitational.

The Mustangs started with a time of 1:17.17 in the 200 freestyle relay to take one-hundredth of a second off a mark set by the University of Texas last February. This quartet was Justin Baker, Lance Butler, Cole Bruns and Charlie Kaye. Bruns, Butler and Kaye joined Sage Sungail to go 2:52.95 on the final 400 freestyle stint, cutting 0.07 off a Spring 2021 record (which Butler and Kaye were also a part of).

Between the two, SMU collected 1,272 points in the three-day encounter from Thursday to Saturday, some 450 points more than Drury in the five-team men’s event. San Diego State tallied 907 points to win the Women’s SMU Invitational, prevailing over an eight-team field and retaining the 713 points earned by the University of Hawaii.

SMU Invitational Team Scores


  1. San Diego State 907
  2. Hawaii 713
  3. Miami (Florida) 677
  4. EMS 666
  5. Wyoming 364
  6. 358
  7. TOS 65
  8. Arkansas 44


  1. EMS 1272
  2. 809
  3. Hawaii 690
  4. Wyoming 502
  5. TCU 138

SMU’s sprint depth was a major contributor to the win. He swept the top four spots in the 50 free and clinched six of eight spots in the A final. Butler led the way in 19.54 seconds, with Baker trailing in 19.63, both NCAA Cup B. Bruns and Butler finished second and third respectively in the 100m. Sungail, who was fourth in the 50m, was third in the 200m freestyle. SMU also won both medley relays.

The, Colin Fehery play a role. He won the 200m individual medley in 1:43.45, he and second Raven Angus hitting the NCAA B Cups. Feehery also won the 400 individual medley in 3:43.82, with Cotton fields and Corbeau following in NCAA timeouts, then Feehery won the 200 breaststroke with Corbeau third. Fields added the 200 butterfly title. Evan McCormick finished second in the 100 breaststroke, and Hunter Lund and Joshua Miller went 2-3 in the 1,650 free.

The only A Cups in the competition were won by Division II Drury, who more than held off Division I opposition. Dominik Karacic clocked 46.41 in the preliminaries and was only 0.01 slower in the final to win the 100 butterfly in an automatic qualifying time. It was the same for Nathan Bighetti, who lost 3.5 seconds from the preliminaries to clear the A standard in the 200 backstroke final with a time of 1:42.82. Cameron Craig was only a tenth of a second away from adding a third such cut in the 100 freestyle, having clocked 43.25 in the preliminaries before winning the event in 43.54 on the night. Craig narrowly missed an A cup with his time of 46.79 for second place in the 100 butterfly.

The Panthers picked up a lot of gear that day. Karacic finished second in the 200 butterfly. Bighetti also won the 100 backstroke. It was a 1-2 with a teammate Kham Glass, where the 200 was a 1-2 with André Rodríguez. Joao Nogueira and Anisse Djaballah took the top two spots in the 500 freestyle then joined Craig and Karacic to win the 800 freestyle relay. David Mourao won the 100m breaststroke, was second in the 200m and third in the 200m individual medley. He joined Bighetti, Karacic and Glass to win the 200 medley relay.

Wyoming picked up a pair of wins over the distance. Quinn Cynor went 1:36.62 to upset Hawaii Mario Surkovic, which had been 1:35 a.m., to win the 200 freestyle. Charlie Clark prevailed within the mile.

The women’s competition also ended in a pool record, the fourth victory in five races for a team from Hawaii who nevertheless settled for second place in the overall team standings. Holly Nelson, Laticia-Leigh Transom, Anna Friedrich and Gabrielle Williams Scudamore scored at 3:16.45, slashing the pool mark set by SMU in the spring by a second and a half. Transom and Friedrich were on all four winning stints, while Williams-Scudamore and Nelson were on three each.

Transom, the USC transfer, had the most impressive individual encounter. She won the 50 free, 100 free, and 200 free, all in B cups, and she added a B cup in the 100 fly as a finalist at SMU. Valentina Becerra.

San Diego State, however, prevailed over its depth. The Aztecs only won three events, none of which was a relay, but it was enough.

Kristina Murphy won the 400 IM by six seconds, in an NCAA B Cup of 4:13.56. She was third in the 200 individual medley and third in the 100 breaststroke and third in the 200 breaststroke. alexander Robert went in 1:55.26 to win the 200 backstroke and orchestrated a 1-2-3 finish in the 100 backstroke with her winning time of 52.90. Wilma Johansson added a 1:59.13 to beat the field in the 200 butterfly. Johansson also finished third in the 200 freestyle, and Meredith Smithbaker was second in the 100 freestyle and fourth in the 50.

The Chest 200 was arguably the race of the day, with five NCAA B cups. Tara Vovk won it, clocking 2:10.24, 1.6 seconds on the field. That pairs well with her pool record in the 100 breaststroke, a 58.89 that broke a record shared by Michigan. Letitia Sim and USCs Kaitlyn Dobler at 59.09. Vovk also won the 200 individual medley in 1:57.22.

Second in the 200 breaststroke was SDSU Christiana Williams, a seat ahead of Murphy. Zory Mason, who had been second to Vovk in the 100 breaststroke and 200 IM, finished fourth, followed by her Miami teammate Julia Carvalho, who finished second in the 50 freestyle and third in the 100 butterfly in back-to-back events on Thursday. Miami was the only block on Hawaii’s relay dominance, with Mason, Vovk, Carvalho and Jacey Hinton teaming up to edge them by 0.22 seconds to win the 200m medley.

As with the men, the distance brought its victories to Wyoming. Maisyn Klimczak won the 500 freestyle in 4:47.13 and the mile in 16:24.24, both B cups. (Miami Aino Otava finished second in the first and third in the 400 IM.)

SMU got three podiums from a diver Nicole Stambo, who won the 3 meter and finished second in the other two competitions. UCT Anna Kwong won 1 meter and was runner-up in 3 meters; other horned frogs David Ekdahl and Max Birman won the springboards on the men’s side, with TCU sending only their divers.

Of note at the SMU Invitational, Ukraine international Oleksii Khnykin, who trains at Drury, swam untethered. The D2 All-American, who represented his country at the European Championships this summer, clocked 19.81 in the 50 free, 43.68 in the 100 free, 1:38.00 in the 200 free and 47.10 in the 100 butterfly .